Baker Mayfield among winners at CFB Awards ceremony

Baker Mayfield among winners at CFB Awards ceremony

Baker Mayfield among winners at CFB Awards ceremony

The senior quarterback took home some major hardware during college football's annual award night as he was named the Davey O'Brien Award victor, Maxwell Offensive Player of the Year and Walter Camp Player of the Year.

Mayfield has passed for 4,340 yards and 41 touchdowns while leading the Sooners (12-1) into the College Football Playoff.

Mayfield beat out Ohio State's J.T. Barrett and Oklahoma State's Mason Rudolph.

Skilled Nursing Spending Growth Slowed in 2016
Retail prescription spending increased 1.3% in 2016, growing to $328.6 billion - roughly 10% of overall health spending. That's slower than the 3.7% growth between 2014 and 2015, CMS's Office of the Actuary noted in a Wednesday release.

Mayfield was named the recipient of the 2017 Walter Camp Football Player of the Year.

The other finalists were Louisville quarterback Lamar Jackson and three running backs - Penn State's Saquon Barkley, Stanford's Bryce Love and San Diego State's Rashaad Penny. Alabama cornerback Minkah Fitzpatrick won the Jim Thorpe Award, given to the best defensive back, and followed it up with the Bednarik Award, which is given to the best overall defensive player.

Georgia linebacker Roquan Smith won the Butkus Award, given to the best linebacker.

Congress passes stopgap spending bill to avert government shutdown
Democrats hope to use their leverage in the year-end budget battle to win concessions on spending, immigration and other issues. This time, the White House smoothed the waters by following up with a more peaceable, written statement.

The Big 12 enjoyed a solid awards night, as Oklahoma State's James Washington won the Biletnikoff Award that is given to the nation's top wide receiver and Texas' Michael Dickson won the Ray Guy Award (nation's top punter).

Below is the list of award winners announced during Thursday's ceremony.

Virginia linebacker Micah Kiser won the Campbell Award for the top scholar athlete, and Kentucky linebacker Courtney Love wins the Wuerffel Award, given to the the top community servant.

Pacific Fleet Commander: Pearl Harbor Response Had No Shortage of Bravery
But he says remembrance ceremonies like Thursday's put on by AMVETS Post #7 in Oshkosh are important. A Pearl Harbor survivor from Central Texas is sharing what he experienced on December 7, 1941.

Related news