Australia cricket captain Steve Smith wins his 2nd Allan Border Medal

Australia cricket captain Steve Smith wins his 2nd Allan Border Medal

Australia cricket captain Steve Smith wins his 2nd Allan Border Medal

Australia cricket captain Steve Smith capped off a golden 12 months by winning his second Allan Border Medal in Melbourne on Monday.

To start the awards, Steven Smith was named Test Player of the Year for scoring 1,305 runs at an average of 81.56 with six centuries; Nathan Lyon came second with 26 votes.

Smith topped the run aggregate for Australians across the three global formats, but his Test form was the most impressive - 1305 runs in 11 matches at an average of 81.56, with six centuries.

While proud of the 4-0 series win against England, Smith has challenged his side to back it up away from home soil.

Human Error To Blame For Comm Games Ticket Fail
Ticketek had the job of printing the batch, they say there was an "error" when information was being transferred between files. About 14,000 tickets sent out in recent days have Thursday, April 4 printed on them but April 4 is actually a Wednesday.

The most interesting bit in the video comes early, when Smith's wife reveals the Australian captain "takes out the garbage first thing".

However, the South Australian seamer's chances of a Test debut likely rest on injury or management of one of Australia's three front-line quicks in Mitchell Starc, Pat Cummins and Josh Hazlewood.

Smith scored 1745 runs at 67.46 across formats in 2017.

Smith, who also won the Allan Border medal in 2015, accumulated 246 votes ahead last year's victor Warner (162).

Kieran Gilbert: Barnaby Joyce not going anywhere yet
Mr Joyce said there was no evidence that he had used taxpayer dollars for trips to conduct a relationship with the staffer. But Ms Bishop, who has plans to be overseas herself next week, said Mr Turnbull had not asked her to be available.

Opening batsman Aaron Finch picked up the T20 International Player of the Year prize, while George Bailey secured the Men's Domestic Player of the Year award.

As expected David Warner and Steven Smith stole limelight within a plethora of superstars that included Shane Warne, Belinda Clark, Karan Rolton and Ricky Ponting.

All-rounder Ellyse Perry went on to win the Belinda Clark Award for the second time since 2016 and went on to claim 116 votes with second on the list is Beth Mooney with 78 votes.

Monday night's black tie function will also feature the men's global T20 player of the year, the top men's and women's domestic players and the Bradman and Betty Wilson awards for the young players of the year.

Suspect in Custody Following Florida School Shooting
Marjory Stoneman Douglas High School's JROTC program has a public Facebook page that lists a " Nikolas Cruz " among their members. As students evacuated, she heard six gunshots and everyone started running back inside the school, Baltzer told CNN's Sara Ganim.

Related news